Iowa High School Sports News by Sports Spotlight - High School - 2013 Sports Spotlight Iowa High School Boys Basketball All-State Teams
Iowa's Home For
Live Local Sports
Home  /  Scores for Iowa High School Sports  /  About  /  Contact  /  Advertise
2013 Sports Spotlight Iowa High School Boys Basketball All-State Teams
Peter Jock (West Des Moines Valley) - Sports Spotlight Class 4A Player of the Year

DES MOINES, Iowa – The Iowa Sports Spotlight has released their 2013 Iowa High School Boys All-State Basketball Teams in all four classes.  In each class they also named a Player of the Year and Coach of the Year.

In Class 4A, the Player of the Year is Peter Jok of West Des Moines Valley.  Jok led 4A in scoring average (23.6) and led his team in rebounding (6.4) and in a season where Jok faced many junk defenses to try to contain his ability.  Jock hit nearly 50% of his shots from the field and including 42% from 3-point range.  Peter has signed to play at the University of Iowa.

In Class 3A, the Player of the Year is Klinton Carlson of Waverly-Shell Rock.  The UNI recruit led his team is scoring average (17.7), rebounding (7.5) and blocked shots (20) while dishing out 73 assists.  Carlson is a versatile player that can play inside the paint or score form the outside. 

In Class 2A, the Player of the Year is Dallas Ennema of Sheldon.  Ennema led the Orabs to their first-ever state title leading the team in scoring (21.8), rebounding (6.3), blocked shots (26) and third in assists (87).   Dallas shot 54% from the field, 39% from 3-point range and 82% from the charity stripe.

In Class 1A, the Player of the Year is Steven Soukup of Danville.  Steven ended the season leading 1A in scoring average (27.7) while shooting 67% from the field and nearly 48% from 3-point range.  Soukup also pulled down nearly 10 rebounds per game and dished out 100-plus assists and had nearly 100 steals.

2013 Sports Spotlight Iowa High School Boys Basketball All-State Teams

Class 4A

1st Team
G-Cole Clearman, Junior Bettendorf
G-*Peter Jok, Senior, West Des Moines Valley
G-Wyatt Lohaus, Junior, Iowa City West
F-Jeremy Morgan, Senior, Iowa City West
F-Daniel Tillo, Sophomore, Sioux City North
C-Kyle Haber, Junior, Dubuque Senior

G-Tayontae Jenkins, Junior, Des Moines North
G-TJ Lake, Senior, Western Dubuque (Epworth)
F-Chris Bennett, Senior, Des Moines Roosevelt
F-Kahehl Brown, Senior, Cedar Falls
F-Allen Lazard, Junior, Urbandale
C-Ted Friedman, Senior, Ankeny

3rd Team
G-Nick Jeffries, Junior, Southeast Polk
G-Chris King, Sophomore, Des Moines Hoover
G-Cortez Seals, Sophomore, North Scott (Eldridge)
F-Marcel Dunson, Senior, Sioux City East
F-Michael Jacobson, Sophomore, Waukee
C-Jay Knuth, Junior, Johnston

Class 4A Player of the Year: Peter Jok, West Des Moines Valley
Class 4A Coach of the Year: Cody Fisher, Sioux City North

Class 3A

1st Team
G-Billy Daniel, Senior, Davenport Assumption
G-Shane Graves, Senior, Bishop Heelan (Sioux City)
F-Grant Sagen, Senior, Vinton-Shellsburg
F-*Klinton Carlson, Senior, Waverly-Shell Rock
F-Dalton Franken, Senior, Atlantic
C-Casey Schlatter, Junior, Iowa Falls-Alden

Klinton Carlson, Waverly-Shell Rock - Sports Spotlight Class 3A Player of the Year

G-Spencer Barnes, Senior, Anamosa
G-Maxton Kearns, Senior, Vinton-Shellsburg
F-Kyle Heaton, Senior, Bishop Heelan (Sioux City)
F-Trey Lansman, Junior, Harlan
F-Faith Pope, Senior, Mount Pleasant
C-Justin Van Kalsbeek, Senior, MOC-Floyd Valley

3rd Team
G-Payton Busch, Senior, Centerville
G-Derek Hall, Senior, Denison-Schleswig
F-Tate Handsaker, Senior, Nevada
F-Josh Jirak, Senior, Center Point-Urbana
F-Logan Losh, Senior, Boone
C-Carson Miller, Senior, Norwalk

Class 3A Player of the Year: Klinton Carlson, Senior, Waverly-Shell Rock
Class 3A Coach of the Year: Joe Johnson, Vinton-Shellsburg

Class 2A

1st Team
G-Brad Baudler, Senior, Nodaway Valley (Greenfield)
G-Jordan Wagenbach, Senior, Mediapolis
F-*Dallas Ennema, Senior, Sheldon
F-Rylan Murry, Senior, West Branch
C-C.J. Mason, Senior, MFL, Mar-Mac (Monona)
C-Payton Plagge, Senior West Fork

Dallas Ennema, Sheldon - Sports Spotlight Class 2A Player of the Year

2nd Team
G-Jacob Hadaway, Senior, North Polk
G-TJ Sterk, Senior, IKM-Manning
F-Sam Brincks, Junior, Kuemper Catholic (Carroll)
F-Cole Crawford, Senior, Wilton
F-Reed Tellinghuisen, Junior, East Sac County
C-Alex Welsch, Senior, Nodaway Valley (Greenfield)

3rd Team
G-Britton Barrier, Senior, Tri-Center (Neola)
G-Trevor Haaland, Junior, Osage
F-Jared Jones, Senior, Des Moines Christian
F-Kyle Smith, Junior, New Hampton
F-Austin Ver Merr, Senior, Pella Christian
C-Austin Glawe, Senior, Sioux Central (Sioux Rapids)

Class 2A Player of the Year: Dallas Ennema, Senior, Sheldon
Class 2A Coach of the Year: Claude Struve, Sheldon

Class 1A

1st Team
G-Austin Halls, Senior, Murray
G-Luke Lenhart, Senior St. Mary’s (Storm Lake)
F-Michael Soukup, Senior, Danville
F-*Steven Soukup, Senior, Danville
C-Kennedy Drey, Senior, St. Mary’s (Storm Lake)
C-Ricky Williams, Senior, Riverside (Oakland)

Steven Soukup (Danville) - Sports Spotlight Class 1A Player of the Year

G-Adam Courtney, Senior, Guthrie Center
G-Eli Ihnen, Senior, Harris Lake Park
G-Austin Lefler, Senior, Lawton-Bronson
F-Bryan Forbes, Senior, Lone Tree
C-Vaclav Bujnoch, Senior, Sigourney
C-Jeremy Deemer, Junior, Lamoni

3rd Team
G-Mitchell Boevers, Sr., Wapsie Valley (Fairbank)
G-Kasey Lasack, Senior, Midland (Wyoming)
G-Spencer Rochhloz, Senior, Adair-Casey
F-Ben Taylor, Senior, Ankeny Christian Academy
F-Andrew Van Ginkel, Junior, Rock Valley
C-Elias Nissen, Junior, Springville

Class 1A Player of the Year: Steven Soukup, Senior, Danville
Class 1A Coach of the Year: Jason Shelangouski, Riverside (Oakland)

Iowa High School All-State Basketball Teams Sports Spotlight Iowa High School All-State Basketball Teams Iowa High School Boys Basketball All-State Basketball Teams Iowa Sports Spotlgiht All-State Boys Basketball Teams

Hy-Vee Horizon Athletes of the Week


Casey's Pizza Special
Sports Spotlight Magazine
Newsletter Sign Up